Australian Fashion Week

I’ve been following the Australian Fashion Week to get ideas so I can go online and find preloved equivalents but it’s been tough  to find anything that would look reasonable on the ordinary mortal like me. I have seen all sorts of voluminous garments, ass-short skirts, colourless fabrics and have not been inspired. However, I have picked out some of my favourites for you to see.

I love the textures and the unexpectedness of the yellow boots in the Flannel outfit.

The black dress has a great pleated skirt and I will definitely be on the lookout for something similar.

The orange dress has been included for the colour but I’m not sure many people could wear that amount of gathers around their waists.

Manning Cartel’s outfit is fairly safe and classic but I always enjoy it when they match the colour of the hair to a garment.

Alex Perry’s dress is a great take on the crotchet look but again, maybe there’s a bit too much volume around the hips for anyone but a stick figure.

Having said that, there are elements in each outfit that attract me and from that I will put together a couple of unique looks by purchasing a few pieces from trademe, but it could take a while to find the perfect garments and accessories to pull it off.

About Suzanne

I am Suzanne Perazzini, the author of two low Fodmap cookbooks, Low Fodmap Menus and Low Fodmap Snacks, and the creator of the Inspired Life Low Fodmap Coaching Program. I live in New Zealand in a house overlooking the Pacific Ocean with my husband and son. Since discovering the low FODMAP diet, my irritable bowel syndrome issues, which I have suffered from all my life, have all but disappeared. My blog, Strands of My Life, focuses on the low FODMAP diet and features videos, recipes and articles on irritable bowel syndrome. My mission in life is to help those who suffer from irritable bowel syndrome to implement the low Fodmap diet. I have a side blog called Path to Minimalism, where I document our downsizing to a life of minimalism and zero waste.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Catwalk Fashion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I haven’t paid much attention to Australian fashion until recently. I now love it and these picks of yours are lovely. I love the color of that Johnston dress. XX

    • I’m always looking for that color but it’s not that easy to find. I used to own a boutique and it was a difficult color to sell so I guess that’s why they don’t use it.

Leave a Reply

